Skip to content

Emma & Michael’s highland fling

April 29, 2010

I’m always on the lookout for show-stopping real-life weddings for the magazine, so I was really excited when I stumbled across the blog of Scottish-based photographers Lillian & Leonard, who shot Emma & Michael’s wedding pictured below (featured in the Oct/Nov issue of Wedding). There was something so fresh and unique about the look of their day, which was held at a remote artist’s studio called Crear in Kilberry, Argyll (a stunning stretch of the Scottish coast that I’ve just visited on holiday). When I interviewed Emma, I wasn’t surprised to find out she’s a textile designer – her flair for colour and textures at the wedding says it all! 

Yellow and pink wedding colour scheme

The paper pom poms are so effective and Emma and a friend did all the floral displays themselves with blooms sourced from a flower market, which they arranged in pretty teacups and colourful tea tins. I really loved the fact she wore a yellow dress, too (in case you’re wondering, it’s by Nicole Miller).

Yellow and pink wedding colour scheme

One of my favourite ideas was the Polaroid guestbook, where friends and family held up a gold frame and had their pictures snapped. They then wrote a personal message to Emma & Michael, and pegged it to a ribbon on the wall. But the real clincher was their adorable greyhound who appears in his own portrait (I’ve got a serious soft spot for dogs!) I never get bored of looking at this wedding – it looked so relaxed and  fun. Hope it inspires you too!

Yellow and pink wedding colour scheme

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Oh my goodness. This wedding looks stunning. I like the decor, with the pops of colour and the frame/polaroid/flowers idea is brilliant! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

