Skip to content

My first bash at wedding flowers… eek!

February 12, 2011

Over the last few years I’ve become a bit obsessed with growing my own flowers (the David Austin rose catalogue has replaced Grazia as my bathtime read!). It might sound a tad geriatric, but there’s something so satisfying about wandering round the garden picking flowers you’ve grown yourself, rather than buying a bunch of limp roses from Tesco. The best bit is arranging them (or in my case, plonking them in a jam jar or cheapo vase, see below).

DIY-wedding-flowers1

Having spent the last four years writing about weddings and beautiful floral displays for Wedding magazine, I’ve  always wondered if the DIY designs I create at home could cut the mustard at a real wedding. So when one of my oldest friends Hannah asked me to give her a hand with her wedding flowers, I jumped at the chance. She’s is ultra-stylish and is going to be the most beautiful bride EVER! She even looks radiant when drunk – even the cocktail matches her dress in this pic!

She’s hasn’t got a fortune to spend on mega-expensive displays, so she’s asked a local florist to do all the fiddly stuff (bouquets, buttonholes etc), and has entrusted me with the reception tables and other little touches. She’s getting married at the beautiful Gatestreet Barn in Surrey, and wants relaxed displays of green and white meadow flowers, roses and hydrangeas displayed in either jam jars and painted terracotta plant pots (the rustic option) or slightly more glam silvery votives to complement the bridesmaids’ grey dresses. Something along these lines…

Green-and-white-tablecentres1

Vintage-glamour-tablecentre-flowers1

Over the next few weeks I’ll be getting some advice from some of my fave florists, including Sabine Darrall at G Lily who did my wedding flowers. She’s very kindly offered to share a few tricks and ideas with me so I can – hopefully – create tablecentres to make Hannah proud. Very exciting! Watch this space…

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

