Skip to content

Behind the scenes at our Wedding Flowers magazine shoot

March 27, 2011

Agreeing to do my friend Hannah’s wedding flowers was one thing, but actually having the know-how to create displays she’ll love is another kettle of fish. When I got married, the flowers were a really important part of creating the right atmosphere and I want Hannah to be as thrilled with her displays as I was with mine. No pressure then!!

I figured that getting advice from people who actually know what they’re doing might be a good place to start. Luckily, I’ve met some wonderful florists during my time as a wedding journalist, so I’m hoping to pinch as many expert tips from them as possible.

With this in mind, Hannah and I recently visited Covent Garden Flower Market to  get an idea of the flowers she likes, followed by a DIY taster session at one of London’s premier florists, Wild at Heart. The full story of what we got up to is going to feature in the June/July issue of Wedding Flowers magazine (on sale at the beginning of May), which I’m really excited about! In the meantime, here are a few behind-the-scenes pics of the shoot…

Hannah inside Wild At Heart’s beautiful Pimlico shop…

DIYweddingflowers1

The shop was full of gorgeous spring flowers…

DIYweddingflowers15

The pretty displays we ended up making… loving the antique silver teapots!

DIYweddingflowers18

I had my eye on the unusual bottles and plant pots – they’d make fab vases for Han’s wedding…

DIYweddingflowers13

DIYweddingflowers

Photographer Paul and Wedding Flowers’ feature writer Carrie capture the day for the magazine…

DIYweddingflowers

Super-talented florist Astrid shows us the ropes – she made it look so easy!

DIYweddingflowers

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

