Skip to content

From recycling bin to reception table – jam jars get glam!

July 6, 2011

pink and purple wedding flowers jam jars

I’ve been contemplating the whole jam jar/vase idea for a while, but I wasn’t sure if they’d look pretty enough plonked on Hannah’s reception tables without any decoration. I had a spare hour at the weekend, so, inspired by some lace I’d collected ages ago, I set about transforming a few plain jars into mini vases fit for a rustic wedding reception. Most of the flowers I picked from my garden were pink or purple, so I chose card in these shades to wrap around each jar before finishing off with the lace and grosgrain ribbon. I know it looks a bit homespun, but hopefully that’s the point! It’s also a fab way to bring a touch of eco-chic to your wedding (although slightly worrying to see how many empty Nutella jars were stashed in my recycling bin!)

pink and purple wedding flowersCalifornian bluebells (I had to rescue them from reject bucket at Tesco – only 98p!)

Pink hydrangea jam jar

Hydrangea – from my garden. It was bright purple last summer but has come out pink this year.

Pink and purple wedding flowers jam jarsClarkia and larkspur – both of which I grew from seed!

Jam jar decorated with lace

pink and purple wedding flowers

pink and purple wedding flowers jam jars

pink and purple wedding flowers jam jars

pink and purple wedding flowers jam jars

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Louise Lowe permalink

    Sast – these are so beautiful. You’ve always had such an amazing eye! xx

  2. I love these!! The jars are so pretty Sarah with the lace!! I think this could be the winning design for Hannah’s big day! xx

Leave a Reply

